Passion, Ethics and Artificial Leather

Oh wow. Artificial leather! I am not saying that I don’t have mixed feelings. To be honest I am relieved that I don’t have to ethically judge about this topic. Still, very fascinating,  this TED talk from Andras Forgacs. It’s on the one hand very inspiring to see how immensely passionate Andras is about this technology and the dream he’s been following for years. On the other hand, though, you can see even him returning several times during his speech to the ethical foundation of why he is doing what he does – as if somehow his work is constantly forcing him to think about the moral legislation. It’s just an assumption but I think Andras chose to have one of the toughest jobs out there. Imagine yourself in a lab creating artificial leather and I assure you that you’ll be confronted with ethically and morally doubts and questions you’ve never had before. Wow, this TED talk is powerful in so many ways and not only because humans can now grow artificial leather.

Tagged

Leave a comment